Have a question that you want answered? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
***Please note that our hashgachah extends only to the branches that are specifically cited on our teudot (certificates). Incorrectly assuming that one branch of a food provider is kosher just because another one is a common mistake people make. Please check for our valid kosher certificate with exact address in the store window.
Questions on DUNKIN’ DONUTS
Q. Are all baked goods at the Dunkin Donut stores dairy or are some of them are Pareve?
A. All of their baked goods are dairy non-Cholov Yisroel. They all contain powdered milk and some icing or fillers have liquefied milk as well. The bagels are pareve however they are baked in a dairy oven and all products are non pas Yisroel.
Q. Are all Tri-state Dunkin’ Donut bagels/donuts Kosher?
A. Unfortunately they are not. Bagels can only be purchased at a kosher certified store. Each franchisee is responsible for their own products and many of them are produced in the same ovens with actual not Kosher food products. One should not eat in a Dunkin’ Donuts that is not kosher supervised (drinking is another story).
Q. I was wondering if you have a list of all the coffee and frozen drinks you can purchase at non kosher Dunkin’ Donuts stores. Please advise.
A. You can purchase any beverage at a non kosher Dunkin’ Donuts store as long as it is a flavor sold at a kosher location. As long as you verify that the exact same flavor is available to drink in a kosher location, it is fine to drink at a not kosher store.
Q. There’s a Dunkin’ Donuts where I’d like to buy Large Hot containers of Tea or Cafe. I believe the container is referenced as JOE. Any feedback welcomed.
A. Any drink that can be bought at a kosher Dunkin’ Donuts store can be bought in a non-kosher store, as long as it is the same flavor. Regular hot tea and coffee are fine.
Q. Can any of the drinks (other then plain coffee) sold in stores from your SELECT list be considered kosher (i.e. lattes, coolatas, cappuccino)? Is there a list for that?
A. Any drink which is sold in a fully kosher Dunkin Donuts store can be purchased at a limited certified store. Make sure it is the same flavor sold in the kosher store.
Q. I am trying to make sure which Dunkin’ Donuts stores in Brooklyn are acceptable for their donuts, cookies and coffee and which ones for coffees are acceptable.
A. The list on our website is up to date for fully kosher stores in Brooklyn where you can purchase the baked goods. Coffee can be purchased at a non kosher Dunkin store.
Q. Are the kosher Dunkin’ stores pas Yisroel?
Q. I have heard mixed information on the status of the Dunkin hot chocolate. I have asked to see the hot cocoa powder in a few stores (non-supervised) and there is no Hasgacha or information on the bag, yet I have heard some Rabonim say it is fine. I was curious to hear your opinion on this matter.
A. The regular hot chocolate mix is Kosher. The Kosher symbol is on the box not the individual bag.
Q. Does hashgacha on Dunkin’ Donuts through 12/31 mean it has sold Chametz (or owned by goy)?
A. All of our stores owned by Jewish owners were required to sell their chometz. Half of our stores are owned by goyim. Either way, any store with our hashgacha is totally fine to eat after Pesach.
Q. When is it permitted to purchase from Dunkin Donuts motzei Pesach?
A. You can purchase one-half hour after the chag has concluded.
Q. I have a question about the vegan flavors at 16 Handles. How does the dairy-free standard of vegan ice cream and sorbet match up with the Halachic standard for Pareve? Can I eat it after fleishig?
A. The sorbets are Pareve and can be eaten after fleishig (meat).
Q. I was wondering if all the flavors in 16 Handles are kosher. I looked at the kosher certification at the 325 Amsterdam (75th Street) branch and some of the fruit (including raspberries) was not kosher. There is a raspberry fro-yo flavor and I was not sure if it applied to that as well.
A. All flavors of froyo are kosher in our kosher stores, just some of the toppings are not covered under our organization and will have a sign saying so above the individual topping.
Q. Is the Cookie Do store in Brooklyn (55 Water St.) under your hashgachah? I know the main branch in Manhattan is, but there is a second branch in Brooklyn…I didn’t see a teudah around from a quick glance, and was wondering if you certify that one as well. I imagine that the ice cream is mixed offsite, no? So whatever is shipped to the Manhattan store is likely shipped to the Brooklyn one as well?
A. The only Cookie DO store we provide supervision to is the one at LaGuardia place. Unfortunately that location is not kosher and there are no assurances or safety guards to ensure that the integrity of Kosher has been maintained. Additionally this particular store can add or subtract ingredients or add flavors from outside vendors.
Q. I saw that the Playa Bowls in Englewood is kosher with your hechsher. Would it be ok to purchase certain items in another location? Don’t all the mixes come from the same factory?
A. Unfortunately, there is no “one” factory. Playa Bowl is a franchise and each franchisee is responsible for all items on menu and there is some latitude in regards to purchasing. The “mixes” are produced from raw ingredients on-site and can vary from store to store. I would not purchase from a store without a valid hechsher.
Q. I Work in building 77 in Brooklyn navy yard I noticed there is a bakery in the lobby with your certification, Russ & Daughters. As far as I know they are open on Shabbos so can you please provide me a bit more info as to how its setup and if its Pas Yisroel?
A. It is not pas yisroel. This is owned by no Jews and therefore they can be open on shabbos. ONLY THE BAKED GOODS ARE KOSHER at this location. The only kosher Russ and Daughters store is at the Jewish Museum.
Q. I came across a new store under your supervision Squeeze in Brooklyn and I was curious – the strawberries they use are frozen bodek or a mashgiach comes in to check fresh strawberries? Also, what is the story with the kale and other greens, are they Positiv or Bodek, or does a mashgiach come into check?
A. They will eventually be using fresh strawberries for the Acai bowls. These obviously must be checked by a shomer shabbos person trained in bedikas tola’im. The owner is a shomer shabbos and is trained in this regard. The base for the Acai bowls will be produced with different ingredients including frozen strawberries, which do not require bedika.
All green leafy vegetables are juiced/liquified which according to gedolei poskim (Rav Shlomo Zalman Auerbach, zt”l, and more) does not require bedikas tola’im.
Q. On the KJ kashrus list it states that Rabbi Mehlman gives the hashgacha for “Tomer’s” on the Upper East Side. Is this still in effect ? Many products have different Rabbi’s names on them; the products without a visible hashgacha, who certifies them ?
A. All products are under our hashgacha; many items are baked in Far Rockaway under the Vaad of the 5 Towns